I was about to go into the church of St Martin–in-the-Fields to hear my dear friend Sarah sing the Bach Mass in B Minor with the Vasari Singers, when an earnest young man accosted me. Instead of glancing at my missing leg and looking away very quickly as is the norm, he gazed straight into my eyes and said, “I can see you have lost a leg and that must be very difficult for you. We’d like to pray for you – what would you like us to pray for?” Flustered, and suddenly feeling that I’d somehow become a character in my very favourite faith-healer joke, the punch line of which is “Frank’s fallen over”, I muttered, “er…a speedy recovery – thank you very much.” As I entered the church, the words, “we pray for a speedy recovery for her” boomed out from behind me, to the bemusement of my fellow concert-goers. Hopping to my pew, I wished I’d asked for the miraculous restoration of a healthy lower leg or paid employment for Nurse Jackie, but it was too late. Later, as the sublime music soared through the church and my soul, and the evening light shone through the extraordinary new east window, I pondered on the kindness of friends and acquaintances who, while knowing that I am situated somewhere on the agnostic spectrum, and don’t adhere to any particular faith, have nevertheless been holding me in their thoughts and prayers, and for that I am truly thankful.