I saw It’s a Wonderful Life for the first time yesterday and as I came out of the cinema (once I’d pulled myself together) I mused that, like George Bailey, I am blessed with the most wonderfully supportive friends and family.  But not only that – I’ve also been blessed with a 21st Century guardian angel in the form of an “experienced” amputee I’ve never met and with whom I’ve only ever communicated by e-mail.  Our correspondence, which grew from a simple enquiry about copyright of an article I’d written, has been a lifeline to me, particularly at my bleakest moments.  There is something extraordinarily comforting about wise words from someone who knows exactly what my diagnosis, amputation and rehabilitation has been like.  So, if there are wings to be had this Christmas, may that bell ring for you, Di.