“It was all very well to say `Drink me,’ but the wise little Alice was not going to do THAT in a hurry.” Unlike the wise little Alice in one of my least favourite books, I drank the bottle of foul-tasting liquid that the nuclear medicine technician handed me yesterday with no idea whatsoever what it was or what it would do to me.  Neither did I have a clue what the nurse injected into my arm as she announced, “you’ll feel yourself going very warm all over inside and you may feel like you’ve wet yourself.”  It amuses me to think how many pages of detailed information I would have been given about both procedures had I had them in the context of medical research rather than treatment.  I’d still be poring over the information sheet and consent form now, rather than consenting then by not getting up and hopping off down the corridor.