If I could go back in time I’d very definitely opt for CGI rather than surgery for my amputation. The outcome is far superior:  no post-surgical swelling, messy wounds or irritating phantom limb sensation. With CGI you get beautifully toned, tanned, symmetrical stumps with no scarring, cellulite, weals or bits of sticking plaster residue on them.  You don’t have to endure months of tedious, painful, exercise and walking practise but instead get to stride out in public a mere two days after picking up your perfectly-fitting hi-tech legs.  I share my fellow amputee, Stuart Holt’s irritation at the physical inaccuracies http://www.guardian.co.uk/culture/2012/nov/11/rust-and-bone-review – surely directorial laziness.

There was a lot I liked about Rust and Bone http://www.sonyclassics.com/rustandbone/ but I was disappointed that a real opportunity to bring amputation into the mainstream was missed. Of course the film wasn’t about amputation and Marion Cotillard played a complex role in a way that few other actors could, but why, for example, is it assumed that an audience will cope with Matthias Schoenaerts’s pulverised face but not with how Marion Cotillard’s post-amputation body would really look and feel? I came away from the film with three thoughts:  1. Disability casting seems to be a muddle: is it unacceptable to have an actor made-up to play the part of someone with Down’s Syndrome but OK to put able-bodied actors in wheelchairs or digitally erase their limbs? 2.  Orca whales are best left in the wild and 3. Nurse J might like to consider boxing as a little earner.