This recent setback hasn’t been an entirely negative experience. I had the pleasure of watching the plastic surgeon and his team remove skin from my thigh and sew it onto my ankle as the theme from Chariots of Fire resounded from the operating theatre iPod – the irony of which appeared to completely pass them by. I managed to read a novel a day during my stay in a spotlessly clean hospital where I was cared for by nurses who couldn’t have been kinder or more helpful. Having to sit with my leg up for two weeks on my return home has been the perfect excuse to bring myself up to date with Breaking Bad, The New Normal, Glee and Nashville. Nurse J, on the other hand, is rather reeling from his refresher course in total home care (with advanced manual handling) and the challenge of managing a patient who has found the temporary transition from two legs to none more than a little irritating.